Guisborough Woods Fell Race Results 2013

A very windy and cold day with temperature on the moor at about zero. A large turnout
meant we were a few minutes late away but once under way we soon had an excellent
race with Paul Lowe leading the men from the start. It soon settled to a bunch of six or
seven at the quarry. In the women’s event matters were taken by the scruff of the neck as
Catherine Taylor soon established a good lead. At the end of the first lap Paul had about
a thirty second lead from Ian McGrath and others. Catherine in the women’s was a
minute ahead of Kay Neesam. At the finish Ian had come back to within 15 seconds to
finish ahead of Cameron Taylor in third. At the end of the women’s event Catherine
finished well clear of the field with Kay Neesam and Nicola Kent in 2nd and 3rd. Nicola
however supported by Angharad Owen took the women’s team title whilst in the men’s
this went to York Knavesmire lead by Chris Roberts.
In the junior events Sam Clapton just held off Archie Lowe in the M12 whilst sister Emma
won the F14. Other winners were Sam Garratt M18; Jack Garrett M10; Nathan Smith
M14;Betty Bergstrand F10;
In the team league the women’s is very close with Thirsk and Sowerby leading on 74pts.
followed by New Marske 73pts and Loftus & Whitby 72 pts. In the men’s league Esk
Valley lead with York Knavesmire 2nd and Esk Valley ‘B’ 3rd.
Hope to see you all for the New Year’s Day jaunt … Happy New Year to you all ….. Dave

Comments are closed here.